Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MARS_999

What is the difference?

MARS_999    1627
Ok, I am new to coding, but know about C/C++ and BASIC, Assembly, and JAVA. What is so great about Pascal, Python, and Perl? Can you code games in any of these last three? How is Pascal compaired to C/C++? Is it as fast or as powerful? I guess what I am asking is can I do anything in these other languages like C/C++, BASIC, and Assembly? I am learning C++ and will move on to JAVA due to it''s similarities. Also would be good to know it for future job offers! Just wondering what peoples thoughts are on this. Windows SUCKS! Deal with it! if(windows crashes) { run Linux } else { yea right!! } Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Product Activation Technology!

NuffSaid    122
Recently, I tried to do some generic programming in Pascal. We''re using Delphi in Uni and I thought it would be pretty cool to try out some RAD stuff. The thing I was trying to do was a generic Binary Tree, and boy, did I have a nightmare.

At first I tried using the Variant variable but I found out that it only did ordinal types. Finally i settled for Pointer, which is like a void * in C. Which equals YUCK. This is an area that C++ (IMHO) shines with its use of templates. Java falls short here as well.

As for Pascal being fast, it is fast. I''ve seen benchmarks where it equals C++ programs in terms of speed. It beats the pants of BASIC/VB in this respect.

Don''t know much about python or Perl. I shall leave it to others who are in the know.

dean_harding    138
A programming language is just a means to an end. If you like Perl, I''m sure you could code up quite a nice game in it. However, it''s not a very good game-coding language. There''s almost no support for any sort of graphics (however, there are binding for things like tcl/tk under unix which lets you draw windows and things)