• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lesan

Legal game principle copying

This topic is 4220 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I know there aren't lawyerss here, but I hope that someone knows something about this problem. I'll demonstrate it using an example: Let's say I'm going to make a game very similar to e.g. Age Of Mythology. It's going to be a RTS. Player is going to advance trough the ages, fighting the enemy and gaining god powers. It will just have another story, units etc. Is it legal to release such game as a freeware? Another example: Let's say Medieval Clash is a commercial game. Is it legal to do copies of it? And there are many clones of it in the world. Thanks for answers in advance.

Advertisement
Disclaimer: IANALNDIPTBO (I am not a lawyer nor do I pretend to be one)

If it is an exact copy of the gameplay, down to the unit balancing and interface, you will probably have some legal issues to deal with. However, if it's just that the concept is very close and the unit types are loosely based on AoE then there shouldn't be a problem.

"Bad artists copy. Great artists steal." - Pablo Picasso

Don't steal resources. If you reverse engeneer a game and it's gameplay without copying any artwork or gametext or other game resources, and you avoid trademark disputes (ie, using the name Empires of Ages or anything that could confuse your two products), you are pretty damn safe.

Rules and Gameplay of games are not protected by IP law in almost every area. The art assets are, the storyline is, but the gameplay itself isn't.

Now, you do have to fear "lawyer crush syndrom", where a large company can crush you like a bug if they notice you through sheer "we can afford mountains of lawyers and you can't" means. The best way to avoid this is to surrender at the first sign of being noticed.

Quote: