• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
LastWorldDeveloper

OpenGL Creating alpha maps on the fly

This topic is 4312 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm relatively new to OpenGL programming and I need some advice. I'm currently in the process of creating a 3D Real Time Strategy game for my final year project at university. It's supposed to work cross platform in Linux and Windows, so I've opted for OpenGL + SDL + C++. I'm looking into using texture splatting to texture my height mapped terrain but my question is this: How do I create the alpha maps for texture splatting to work? I know that say I had a height mapped splat section: 1-------*-------*-------* |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| *-------*-------*-------* |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| *-------*-------*-------* |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| |////////|////////|////////| *-------*-------*-------16 Where vertex 16 is at the the height where I want sand and vertex 1 is at the height where I want grass, I would need two alpha maps for each texture one where 16 was fully opaque (Alpha 1.0) and 1 was completely transparent (Alpha 0.0), for the sand, and the opposite values for the grass, but how do I go about creating the map programmatically? Can anyone give me pointers or suggest a suitable tutorial? Or even tell me if I've missed the point? Thanks.

Advertisement