• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
marshdabeachy

Default constructor / function pointers

This topic is 4222 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This would go in the beginner forum, but it appears to be down. And I'm not really a beginner anymore, but these are beginner problems that, for some rediculous reason, refuse to let me solve them. So here's the two issues: 1) Default constructors. You need them if you're not passing a class (or struct, in my case), any values during instantiation. I'm creating an instance of the struct (called Position) once, giving it the values I specified. Position is immediately getting passed into another function (the constructor for Button) by value. I get compiler errors, telling me I need a default constructor. Great. I give it default values to make it happy. So it finally compiles, runs... hits the Position constructor twice. The first is from the initial creation, which works fine. The second is in the Button constructor, on the function arguments line. I wasn't aware passing by value would call the constructor again. Copy constructor, yes (although I don't need a copy constructor since the struct is doing nothing with dynamic memory). Default constructor though? Well, it's hosing everything up, because that's what is being passed into the function. 2) Function pointers. I'm a bit rusty on this, so I looked it up. I got everything to compile... all looked good. I'm grabbing the address of a function (called Menu::CreateHostMenu) and passing it into another function (the constructor for Button). But upon running my program, I get this error:
Quote: