• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Koger

Loading text map

This topic is 4220 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everybody Im new in programming and as such I have a problem. It may seem stupid or simple, but I cant find any solution, so maybe any of you can help me :) Im not englishman so excuse me for any of my mistakes. Im coding in c++ using SDL library. Im trying to make function that would read kind of map of mine. Problem is, it just didnt work and crush program. Map is simple, all information it cotains is number of colums and rows of map and type of every tile. Its like this for example: COLS:4 ROWS:4 1233 3321 1111 2231 Function reads in directory and returns pointer to unsigned char array. It looks like that: Declarations: Unsigned char *board; Int rows,cols; Function itself: char unsigned * LoadMap(char *dir) { char filename[256]; char buffer[256]; FILE *fp; sprintf(filename,"data/maps/%s",dir); fp=fopen(filename,"r"); fgets(buffer,256,fp); sscanf(buffer," COLS:%d ROWS:%d ",cols,rows); board=new unsigned char[rows*cols]; for(int i=0;i<rows;i++) { fgets(buffer,256,fp); for(int j=0;j<cols;j++) { board[j+i*cols]=buffer[j]; } } fclose(fp); return board; } Thats all. I was looking for solution through many threads but didnt find anything working for me. Thanks for any advises.

Advertisement
I notice that there's no error-checking or debug output in your code. For example, you could check to see if the file is loaded successfully, and print out the values (such as 'rows' and 'cols') as they are read to see if they're correct.

Also, the function returns a pointer to the allocated board array, but according to what you posted 'board' is a global variable (this isn't incorrect per se - it's just a bit suspicious).