• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
izua

A weird question

This topic is 4222 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone! I've lost contact for a while with GD, and with openGl-C++ too, but I've learnt some new stuff, and a question has arised for some time. If this is the wrong forum, feel free to move it. I post it at the newbies forum, since I'm a newbie in this area, and somehow it's related to game programming. First, since i'm a hobby-electronist, I've learnt some PIC assembly language. It's nice, but it's hard work, so I want to make some higher level language, with a syntax similar to C or BASIC. It's really killer. I don't know what even I should look for. I've been pointed to formal language, but I still think I need more. I don't know what I should read/look for. Now, the real thing- the question that raised after this. This, I think, would require a similar solution to this one. I'm developing a browser-based game (PHP/MySQL/Apache). Like darkthrone, kings-of-chaos or a million out there, but it should be more mud-like. I have a bunch of rooms, and each rooms has objects (database entries). Now, each user has a set of variables, stored separately (not in session, or like that). I suppose these will be the variables where the objects and game-world would manifest their presence. Let me take an example. Let's say user 23 is in room 101 (:P) and there are two objects in the database that belong to this room. I want one of them to be visible and one invisible depending to a user variable. How should i do this? I believe there will be a call before listing objects, that will access each object's script, and that script will decide upon the properties of the respective object. Buuuut.. what should i do? Should i make a stand-alone language, to be interpreted in php, or should i make the script in php? I know thi