• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mastrgamr

C++ noobie

This topic is 4218 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok just to let people know (and its quite obvious) im a complete newbie to C++. With that said i was wondering what is the best compiler for the language (free only plz). im currently learning classes and arrays and wanna create my own text game from scratch. i currently use both Dev C++ and borland compilers. can some1 list some compilers. or just tell right off te back the best C++ compiler. THX 4 reading!

Advertisement
Microsoft's Visual C++ 2005 Express is available for free download on their main website. It has a lot of nice GUI features and is used by many, so if you have problems with it, you'll find help fairly easily.

DevC++ is very nice too , but as the above poster mentioned for things like a text game the Visual C++ 2005 Express would do the job nicely since it is available for free too :)

just for you to know :p

dev-cpp and borland aren't compilers, they are development IDEs ;)
gcc and MinGW are compilers.

But as you speaking of IDEs, I like Dev-Cpp and code::blocks.

-Inestical, the totally random dude

P.S. C::B is very great program, and my friend and other random dudes/dudettes told me about it. I'm glad they did.

Quote:

dev-cpp and borland aren't compilers, they are development IDEs ;)

Actually, technically Borland is a company that produced (or still produces?) compiler IDEs.

I would suggest either DevC++ or MSVC++ Express (as others also suggested).

Quote:
Original post by mastrgamr