• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
HinataHyuga

First interview for a programming job.

This topic is 4251 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well I submitted my resume on Monster.com and got a phone call from a company about a job interview for PHP Developer. I am not sure what to expect at the interview or how to even prepare for it. Let me show you guys the job posting and my resume and maybe some of you experienced guys can give me some tips. I am a beginner at php (well I can connect to mysql databases and manipulate data as well as some of the basics of php) but the position is entry level. Here is the job posting:
Revelex Corporation, a web based travel distribution product company, is seeking multiple entry-to-senior level application developers. No relocation package available at this time. Local area applicants will only be considered.

Entry Level Requirements:

* Must have working knowledge of a programming language and the desire to actively learn PHP (Professional experience is preferred, but work on open source and self motivated projects will be considered).
    * Must be organized, self-motivated and be able to communicate effectively.
    * Must have good problem solving skills.
    * Ability to identify and fix software bugs.
    * Ability to implement simple business logic in code. 

Mid-to-Senior Level Requirements:

* Must have 2+ years of solid PHP experience in a business environment.
    * Must be organized, self-motivated and be able to communicate effectively.
    * Must have good problem solving skills.
    * Intermediate to expert level PHP skills.
    * OOP experience.
    * Excellent written and verbal communication skills.
    * Ability to take a leading role on projects.
    * Ability to develop comprehensive system design and architecture.