• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Snowthief

Development speed using databases

This topic is 4251 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. I'm an old programmer who has stuck with C++ until now and have finally decided to move on, because I don't believe I'm doing things the optimal way. Let's say I have a struct containing some data. I need to get certain values here, could be some names sorted alphabetically, you know how I would do that? Create a database, insert my data, SELECT FROM, delete database. Now, I realize databases are very good for handling data, because that's obviously what they were built for, but I also realize that this just isn't right. There has to be a better way. I used to do it the slow way in C++, writing sorting algorithms and lots of for-nexts, but then I did some web development for a while which introduced me to databases and now I find myself using them for EVERYTHING, because it feels like so much code has already been written for me. A more complicated example: "SELECT TOP 3 DISTINCT a FROM MyTable WHERE b-c > 0 AND d = 10 GROUP BY e ORDER BY f DESC" That line takes me no more than 15 seconds to write. Do you know how long this would take me to code in C++? I don't even want to think about that. "UPDATE MyTable SET a = 0 WHERE b > c" One line, takes 5 seconds to write, makes for some extremely neat code that's very easy to maintain. If I put the same thing on one line in C++ to deal with data in a struct, it would be a very long line, not to mention that it would require a variable just to keep track of how far we are in the update process. So, which language should I switch to? Development speed is very important to me, code execution speed is not. I'm looking for a language that either has built-in features that make sorting easy or a library for a language that does. It doesn't have to b