• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Anaton

C# Questions

This topic is 4253 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm fairly new to programming. I know .asp fairly well, and I'm decent with javascript. I recently finished my first class in Programming in C for an online university and I had a bit of trouble with some of the concepts. I undersand pointers such as *p; but when it got into using -> for some reason my brain just refuses to process. I have some time off before I start on new classes and I was wondering if C# would be easier to learn? My wife picked me up a copy of an older Beginning Visual C# book based on .net 1.0. I know that .net is up to 2.0 at least if not later. Would this book be hopelessly out of date for use, or would it still be ok for the basics? If not C#; what would be another language I could work with? I have Visual Studio.net 2005 Standard Edition available as an IDE. Any suggestions/comments would be appreciated.

Advertisement
C and C++ are pretty hard to learn for a beginner. You sound like you might be able to figure it out from your previous experience, but only you can make that determination.

My recommendation is always to start with the highest level language and work your way down. You'll no doubt need to learn C or C++ at some point in your career, but it's difficult to learn to program when you have to struggle against your language of choice. To clarify: Never stop learning! The first language you learn will be the hardest, so it doesn't really matter as long as you keep picking up new ones.

C# is great, and I think it's definitely easier than C or C++. Python is another language that's much easier to learn, but the available IDEs aren't nearly as spiffy as MSVS.