• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
juanmanuelsanchez

OpenGL Weird shadows in opengl

This topic is 4254 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi all. Im new to 3d programing, Im starting to build an engine the thing is that I got the model to load and the texture but I have problems to see it correctly. I have missing faces and shadows in the map, now the thing is that I know that those faces are there because I can see them when I move the camera. here is an example: Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us This is are my initial settings in the engine:
 glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB);
   glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);                           // Enable Smooth Shading
   glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);              // Black Background
   glClearDepth(1.0f);                                // Depth Buffer Setup
   glDepthFunc(GL_LEQUAL);                            // The Type Of Depth Testing To Do
   glHint(GL_PERSPECTIVE_CORRECTION_HINT, GL_NICEST); // Really Nice Perspective Calculations
   glEnable(GL_COLOR_MATERIAL);						  glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0);

Texturing:
  glGenTextures(1, (GLuint *) &texc->texnum);
     glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texc->texnum);
     glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB,
                  texc->image->xsize, texc->image->ysize, 0,
                  GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, texc->image->pixmap);
     GLint param = GL_LINEAR;// : GL_NEAREST;
     glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, param);
     glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, param);
     glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE);
     glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_CLAMP_TO_EDGE);

What could be caussing it? Thanks!

Advertisement