• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
LLGamer59

[web] General question on security

This topic is 4235 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all: I am in the midst of considering moving my hobby project into the commercial realm. I have very little web design experience, and have a small Yahoo-hosted website that I have not publicized yet. My concerns are over security. While not asking any specific question (because I'm too green for that), are there pointers to places to start my education about web security issues in web design? I plan to offer downloadable games and developer packs, and need to get up to speed on anti-hacker measures. Any links or pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Advertisement
Hah! You want a specific answer without asking a specific question! The greener you are the more questions you should have! Seriously though, I know what your asking and, without getting too specific, what's the environment you're working in? What language(s) are you using and/or have available? Who's in charge of your server(s)? What's your root password?

Quote:
Original post by Mage2k<snip>Who's in charge of your server(s)? What's your root password?

LOL! Looking for a real newbie. I wouldn't post your root password here. Just saying.

Oh, ok, my root password is rov...hey, wait a minute. I guess that is lesson #1. :)

I'm working with a Yahoo hosted web page, using straight html and some php. I intend to host the normal spectrum of features, with articles, a forum and downloadable zips containing the game components and development tools.

None of the games will be online, so I don't need any game servers. Just a straightforward site, although I would like the ability for registered users to upload and share game mods.