• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Atash

GCC 3.4.2 lacking stream headers + probs in general w/ GCC

This topic is 4336 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay, technically, I'm not a newbie, because I'm already using VC++, however, I have an issue with GCC and getting it to work. I used to use Code::Blocks Rc1.0 which came with mingw installed, and had no problems with using ifstreams and ofstreams and the such. However, the standard library for the MinGW that I have just doesn't seem to work. I looked in the folders, and there was no ofstream file. Also, when I used fstream, the compiler came up with errors revolving around ios_base having a protected constructor and something about std::endl not existing. Is there any place I can download a more complete standard c++ library? Or, even better, am I doing something wrong and can I fix this without having to jump around the net? I've used google already but keep getting libstdc++, which comes directly with the GNU GCC and I can't exactly figure out how to make it all work out from source...

Advertisement
- An ofstream file should not exist in any standard implementation (which version of VC++ are you using?!).
- ios_base has a protected constructor because you can't (read: shouldn't be able to) copy stream objects.
- std::endl is in <ostream>

Show the offending code, if you want a more complete answer.

jfl.

#include <ofstream>

int main(int argc, const char* argv[])
{
//START DEBUG TEST

std::ofstream debug = std::ofstream("debug.txt");

That's really the only offending part. I believe I ought to be including something else, from what you said, but I'm just slightly confused as to how a string can be considered a stream and thus incite the copy constructor?

EDIT: