• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SumeragiSubaru

General difference in performance between DirectX and DelphiX

This topic is 4319 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I have some experience with DX Components in Delphi(DelphiX, Asphyre) But I have problems with, in my oppinion, very low framerate in rendering in Asphyre. Is here any "guru" who could tell me how many times is DirectX faster in 2D and basic 3D rendering than DelphiX or Asphyre for Borland Delphi?? Or how many 2D pictures can I render in my PC in DX when I have this configuration: AMD Athlon64 4200+ 1,5GB RAM ATI radeon 1600Pro(512MB) and I need frame rate about 60 or 75 fps and pictures are 128*128px or 256*256px could anyone estimate this?? thanks a lot of any answer:)

Advertisement
I'm not really sure what it is you're trying to get at.

With the hardware specified, you shouldn't have any problem drawing fullscreen, 60-75 times per second. There are several ways to do it, some might work better than others.

I can't say I know any DelphiX, or anything of the sort, but unless something went horribly wrong with it, it shouldn't be limiting your performance. If you're not doing anything wrong, it would likely be the API, the Driver, or the GPU itself that are limiting your speeds, and not the Language or the Wrapper you use.

If you're getting very bad performance, perhaps the techniques you are using are incorrect, or are not the best solution in your case. If this is indeed the problem, switching to Unmanaged DirectX would likely do absolutely nothing to your rendering speed.