• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
steelBovine

Transitioning to Game Development

This topic is 4144 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, this is my first post here and probably my last until I have more substantive questions to ask or answers to contribute. I am just shamelessly asking for advice, preferably from someone with experience, for transitioning to game development from a general software development job. I graduated with a degree in math in 2005, I now have ~1 year of experience programming in C#. I have really only worked on one project that will be complete sometime later this year - an image processing application for Windows (specifically working with images of various commercial and properitary formats, generated by x-ray machines). I have no experience with animation or any game-related API. I am an avid gamer (beyond avid, really, its nearly a sickness) and would ultimately be interested in design, but I think I can leverage my programming skills to break in to the industry. I'm very interested in both physics engines and AI. I'm interested in RPG and action games, but I'm willing to work on anything to get my start. What sort of advice do you have for direction for me? Will my current experience be at all valuable to a development studio? Is a degree in Computer Science important? I realize individual employers may have different ideas about these questions, but I'd like a general response to how much time and money it will take for me to make this transition. I realize I'll probably take a pay-cut to get an entry-level job in game programming and I certainly don't mind the hours (it helps to train yourself to function on 4.5 hours of sleep/night). I've signed up for IGDA and plan on attending meetings in the area (I just moved to Baltimore, MD). From my general survey of guides online it se