• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Swattkidd

Headed on the right path?

This topic is 4317 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok well i am still in high school and i really like to program, its what i do mostly in my free time, alongside with soccer. I program a lot in Java, game development, and just anything i can think of because i am just learning. I want to go to college, take programming, comp sci, and Business classes, but i was wondering, am i wasting my time? I mean even if you say i am, i will still do it because i like to but is planning to work for a company in Game dev a bad idea? like is that a fall back for programmers or something? or is that a successful career. I know you guys are going to say that if you like it, money doesnt matter, but im just wondering, being a programmer for a company like one that created GoW, is that a successful career? will you be able to live nicely with a paycheck coming from there, or will you live paycheck to paycheck? i do understand that it depends on your living situation and how high you are in the company...but idk...im just asking some random questions.

Advertisement
It's an unstable and difficult career path to get started in. Well, it -can- be unstable. Lots of game companies are started and flounder every day. If you work for a larger game studio then you're probably going to do a bit better for job security, but even then the market fluctuates and people are laid off every time new consoles are shipped and the market plunges... And then of course there is ramp up which means lots of people are hired and then many are then fired again after the project is done.

However, that said, if you are good and dedicated you can do very well...