Sign in to follow this  
rodrix

LUA scripts

rodrix    122
Hi there! I am new to LUA and I am embbeding it into my engine. Please answer me this two questions: 1) Can I define a function name with dots in the name? In my C++ functions I have defined for Lua: "Mesh3D.New" and so I want to add another function in LUA called "Mesh3D.PaintRed". Can I do that in LUA, like this? Note that Mesh3D is not a class in LUA.
function Mesh3D.PaintRed(x)
        return 2*x;
end
2) I am working with pointers in LUA to find my objects and I am scared that the guys who writes the script (or even myself) passes a wrong type of pointer to the parameter (e.g: he passes a Texture pointer to an Object3d pointer parameter). If that occurs I will get a C++ access violation error and everything will crash, and it will be very difficult to find the bug on the LUA script. Therefore I proposed the following solution:
function SafePointer(myPointer, myPointerType)
      return {Pointer = myPointer, PointerType = myPointerType);
end

TYPE_3ds =1000; -->Constant

function Mesh3D.New3ds(Filepath,p1,p2)

local     tempPointer = Mesh3D.Unsafe_New3ds(p1,p2);
      return SafePointer(tempPointer ,  TYPE_3ds};

end

function Render.3ds(My3ds, p1,p2,p3)
if (My3ds.PointerType= TYPE_3ds) then
Render.3ds(My3ds.Pointer,p1,p2,p3);
else
     Debug.MessageBox("Render.3ds was called by passing incorrect object. Only My3ds object should be passed. A pointer of type " .. My3ds.PointerType .. "was passed.");       

end

end

And my question is: if the user passes to the Render.3ds function a parameter that is not a table (like SafePointer), will the statement (My3ds.PointerType= TYPE_3ds) return NIL or will LUA crash with an error? If it's the second case, how do I check if My3ds is of SafePointer type? Thank you so much in advance! I really appreciate all your feedback! Rod [Edited by - Kylotan on March 7, 2007 5:28:00 AM]

Roots    1625