Sign in to follow this  
gamerboy

Answer these questions please

gamerboy    122
I am not making a game. I am a computer science student and my teacher wants me to contact any game developer and ask the following questions. So please answer the following only if you programmed a game. I'll need your name, the name of your game and a contact number and an email address (doesn't have to be yours, it could be for your organization/company). If you don't prefer disclosing that information in public, then please private message me.
Quote:
* How long did this game take from creation to production? * How many programmers were involved in the creation and implementation? * How many lines of code? * What was the most difficult part of the game to program? * What caused the most complications? * Is there any type of security built in? * What is your background in programming (number of known programming languages, employment, how long, etc) ? * Are there any suggestions that you could give me for going into computer programming? * Any miscellaneous information that you feel would be related?
I sincerely request you to help a student in need. Any help is deeply appreciated. Thanking you in advance. PS - I need all questions to be answered as each of them are graded and any unanswered questions are points lost.

ToohrVyk    1596
Victor Nicollet, for the game Darklaga: cannonball symphony. I'll give you more contact information if you explain why.

* How long did this game take from creation to production?

Nine months (released in October 2004).

* How many programmers were involved in the creation and implementation?

Two: me as game programmer, Stéphane Cocquereaumont as engine programmer.

* How many lines of code?

The game was around 50k lines of C++ code. I don't know how heavy the engine was.

* What was the most difficult part of the game to program?

Mainly the glue code, the menus and the difficulty settings.

* What caused the most complications?