Sign in to follow this  
cjb5790

First time poster, need help starting off.

cjb5790    122
Alright, please don't be annoyed by my, probably and mostly, very stupid and noobish questions. I'm 16 and I take a vocational course for Interactive Multimedia, under that category is Game Desin/Development. This class is suppose to give us a heads up on the future and get us in a college mind set, so come time to start sending out applications, we've got that little bit extra experience under our belts. A little background on me, being 16, I've grown up in the ever most changing, yet greatest, time for video games, PC and console. I started playing Super Nintendo when I was 4. Just recently though I've been looking at everything it takes to make a story come to life through the X, Y, B and A buttons. I have some background in C programming, I can do plenty with the Adobe Suite, Flash and I;ve been toying with 3d Rendering using Cararra 3D. In high school they always tell you to pick something your good at and make that your career. Like that one quote, "The one thing you wake up and can't wait to do, that should be your hobby." Well, I would love to pursue Game Development on a higher level. Currently, I'm only a junior, but for our senior year, we are required a final senior project. I know the great time and effort it takes to put something like this together so I want to get a head start, get the basics out of the way and really start jumping into the challenge. Here is where the questions start: What programs do you use to create models, maps and whatnot? Is the programming portion, just for the actions that take place in the game? I'm assuming yes, and then you use a compiler to put the actual game "footage" with the programming? Basically, how does it work? I want to get a full understanding of this, I really do want to make this my future. I'm sure I will have many more questions, just please be patient with me. I'm just having trouble understanding how to creat, fo