identifying document category

Started by
6 comments, last by Eshwar Rohit 17 years, 1 month ago
I'm currently working in a mobile web project and i need to categorize various articles. for example the categories can be:Politics,Sports,Weather,Movies Given a document containing an article the System has to automatically identify which category the article belongs to. since i'm new to AI i'm not sure how to start. It will be of great help if somone can suggest how to proceed. Thank u Eshwar
Advertisement
Bayesian filters are one great approach. These are what people use to train email programs to recognise 'spam' and 'not-spam', but you can also train them to recognise any arbitrary categories, such as politics, sports, etc. Obviously they require a bit of training in the first place, but once that's done, they require little or no maintenance from then on.

You may want to look at open source applications like POPFile to see how it's used in email, although I believe the code is in Perl so it's perhaps not easy to understand!

For Python, you can use the Reverend library. You'll see some of the ideas on that page are quite close to what you want to do.
I would try to use a technique similar to Bayesian spam filtering.

You basically start with a prior probability that the article belongs to each of your categories. If 40% of the articles are about Politics, and the other categories are 20% each, start with a vector (0.4,0.2,0.2,0.2) to represent your current estimates of the probability of the article being in each category.

Now every time you read a word, you use Bayes's formula to update your probabilities. You need to know how frequently each word happens in each category. For instance, the probability of the next word being "president" might be 0.000129 in Politics, 0.000008 in Sports, etc. The update to the probabilities looks like this:

P'(Politics) = P(Politics)*P("president"|Politics)/P("president")