Sign in to follow this  
Silver-0

Getting into Game Programming

Hey all, I am sure someone here will be able to help me out here. I am wanting to go down the career path of game developer, at the moment my only formal training is after finishing high school in cape town, SA I completed a Diploma at a cambridge accredited college with its main language being C++ and secondary was Oracle. This was a 9 month course so obviously not ver indepth. I am now wanting to look at doing more schooling, be it a Bsc or something in the right direction. the main things i have to look out for is, It needs to be distance learning or part time in london as i am based there and need to continue working to support myself. I would like to continue in C++ as well as i enjoy using it, and find alot of the degrees at places like Open University involve just Java. Does anyone have any recommendations for me? any courses i should consider, would http://www.gameinstitute.com be an option and do these places help finding work after the degree is complete? Oh and one last piece, unfortunately for the financial side I need to look at places that can offer financial support, like paying it off, or paying for one module at a time, as i could not afford to pay in full in one go, maybe in a couple of months but i would like to begin as soon as i can. Thanks! Steve

In spite of their differences, colleges and universities have similar fundamentals when it comes to programming. Even game specific colleges will end up teaching the same programming languages.

Since financial aid is an issue, I would recommend going to a local college that you can afford or that you can get financial assistance for.

Personally I would steer away from the specialized game programming schools. Although nothing is inherently wrong with them, if you ever decide that the game industry is not for you then a degree from a mainstream school would look better.