Sign in to follow this  
BFMVfavorite

making a level editor

Hello all, I've been attempting at making games for the last 2 years, but none of them have ever really worked out. I finally figured out that making a game would be so much easier if i had a level editor. i was thinking of a level editor where i have my own custom file to work with, and a drag and drop system. when i say that i mean i just have to click on what type of enemy or object i want and drag it to wherever, and can pick up to MAX_ENEMIES. i'll probably need to study up on pointers for this, but can anyone tell me how to get started with this, how to get it done, and any suggestions? Thanks a bunch, -Nathan

C#.NET or VB.NET are good for level editors. Programming an editor won't solve your problems though. Programming the game usually tells you what the editor needs to be able to accomplish. I guess I'm confused as to why having custom files would help you so much?

I only suggest using .NET for it's GUI and speed of development, so if you have your own GUI, by all means you can use that.

Guest Anonymous Poster
this really depends a lot on what kind of game it is
how the maps work
tilebased rpg and quake are pretty different..

as for the drag and drop thing and other gui stuff... honestly I never did anything that polished for my own map editor; mostly just keyboard inputs and a very simple (self implemented) drag/drop

if you want it to be pretty im sure someone else will suggest a nice library of stuff for that...

it would be for an acrade style top down shooter (2D). well i would probably mostly want it simple, and im guessing drag and drop isnt simple, so maybe ill go for just the keyboard input, that sounds much easier.
but for my programming i'm using C++ and OpenGL, in the IDE MSVC++.NET, but never have learned .net...is this still makeable in c++, or will it be a lot harder without using C# or .NET?

Thanks,
-Nathan

Guest Anonymous Poster