Sign in to follow this  

Game planning/design document/checklist?

This topic is 3937 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I've decided to make my first 3d game. And I'm doing it all myself. I'm wondering if anybody could either direct me to or give suggestions for a plan so that I don't miss anything in the whole process. Something like a generic checklist to make sure everything is done right the first time around. I'm using Blender to draw my graphics. I'm a noob with it, but learning fairly quickly (practice makes perfect). When the latest Blender quirk makes me want to pull my hair out, I take a break from it and work on game music and sfx. I'm also currently trying to determine what I want to use to write my game with. A long time ago, I programmed BASIC on a C64 and a TRS-80 COCO. My most recent programming is scripting modules for Neverwinter Nights (no, I don't use the scripting wizard). I checked out a few engines and languages and at this stage I think I'm better off going with a rapid application development tool. Right now I'm really leaning towards the A6 engine ( http://www.3dgamestudio.com ). The scripting I did in the demo was fairly simple and I should be able to pick it up quickly enough to write a game or two with it. If I choose to continue writing games, I'll probably learn an actual language. But back to the issue at hand, when working alone instead of with a team, is there a resource that I could be using to best utilize my time/energy to reach my goals. Right now I feel like I'm just drifting from one aspect of game creation to another.