Sign in to follow this  
Dhadson

Guess your number game... assistance required

Hi everyone, I am loathe to do this, as I hoped I could solve this myself, yet despite my efforts I am in need of some assistance. As you may guess, I am new to programming and still learning. I have made some very basic programs, and I am slowly advancing with my work. I have now struck a problem where I am unable to get this game to do what I wish. The game is for the computer to guess your number (a variation on the old "guess your number" game... I basically modified a old version of mine to create this) yet I obviously don't have the skill to implement this properly and I am unsure where to look. With the game, I have the player think of a number, and the computer to guess a number between 1 and 100. The player tells the computer if the guess is correct, higher, or lower. The main problem is that if the game doesn't like the player saying lower... and that the computer doesn't recognise any limits on the range. I am sure that there are many more problems... yet these are the ones I am struggling with presently. Ultimately, I wish to get the game to a stage that a player will choose from a menu if he wants to guess, or for the computer to guess, creating a scoring system in the process where you compete against the computer. I also want to have the option that should a player obviously cheat against the computer (by giving conflicting advise when the computer guesses a number) the computer will quit the game on the player... yet that is something I will work on in the future. So, in short, I would very much appreciate any advise on the below source concerning the major problems mentioned above...

#include <iostream>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <ctime>

using namespace std;

char playAgain();

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
  int guess;
  char correct;
  int lrange=0;
  int hrange=100;
  char answer;

cout << "\t***Guess the number***\n\n" << endl;