Sign in to follow this  

My First Good Program Makes ASCII Shapes

This topic is 3934 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, fellas. As a new member of these forums, and being a person of propriety, I would like to introduce myself. I have very little experience with development. I'm something of a web developer, so I can hack existing PHP programs, I have for years. However, other than that, I don't have very much to show for myself. A friend convinced me to learn Python. I figured out the basics, it was fun, but as I did more research, I got the feeling that I wouldn't really be able to use it for the things I wanted to do, such as to help the good folks over at openFrag with their game engine. A note about openFrag-- Although the engine is young, these people are really great people. Hard working, and helpful. I feel that if I am to become a real developer, there's no better project to join-- Levia, he started C++ programming only eight months ago, and he's already very good. Now, I would like to present to you fine facilitators of facile function factoring a medium mobbed by a modicum of mediocrity of melodramatic measure. Alliteration aside, I have placed some code here: http://files.openfrag.org/Members/CryptoQuick/c++/Shapes/ I'm not entirely familiar with the way programs and source are distributed over this forum, but I find this to be an acceptable manner. A little background on this program, now. I am reading Accelerated C++, by Addison Wesley, 2000. I just finished chapter 2. In the details section, the last section of the chapter, they asked me to do this: Write a set of "*" characters so that they form a square, a rectangle, and a triangle. It inspired me to write my program. I have to confess, I made little effort to clean the source up before I uploaded it. I left in some of my old code, because I just hate d