Sign in to follow this  
Ledoreous

Where to go

I can only assume this is the place to put this question. I'm new to gamedev.net entirely, forums, resources, and all. Accidently stumbled onto it trying to find a resource on cell-shading. Based on everything I've seen and the few posts I've glanced over these seems like the place to be. I've done the VB thing, and have some experience with C & C++. I've more recently decided to more aggresively pursue my desire to create games. Started refreshing my C++ knowledge and am going to school for 3d modeling and animation. The one snag I've run into so far is where to go next. In refreshing my C++ knowledge I've tried to gear it more towards game design and that route has taken me to dos text games, bleh, and windows api programming. I've recently started trying to teach myself how to work with the torque engine in order to create games more on par with what I'm after, the only problem being that its directed @ pc & xbox development. And RPG's being my passion, I've been unable to find something similar for Playstation development. Is there anything available to non commercial developers like torque,ogre, etc that is geared for playstation development? Much appreciated with any nudges in the right direction, my apologies if this is in the wrong area. Many thanks.

In my opinion you need to learn to make games before you make specific kinds of games.

There is, of course, the PS2 linux development kit. However I'm unsure what groundings come with the PS2 dev kit, and i doubt it's much. In my degree we do a few modules on playstation 2 development, and my lecturer has quite an extensive set of tutorials on getting things working on the PS2 on his website:

http://www.hsfortuna.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/

However this is only a framework, as far as I'm aware there aren't any free engines for the PS2.