Sign in to follow this  

Aw man so much info I don't know where to begin.

This topic is 3933 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I've been looking around gamedev.net for a while in the forums and the articles, and there seems to be a lot of great info here. But my problem is I don't know where to begin. First off I'm in my second year of a Computer engineering degree. I have a little object-oriented programming skills with Java, but know that eventually I will need to learn C++. But I would like to know is it feasible to make a top quality 3D game with Java, because from what I've been told there is a lot of similarity between C++ and Java. Second even though I'm in college right now, I was still considering taking some game-specific course at Game Institute. My only gripe with that is that they focus alot on DirectX. Which isn't really a problem but if I learn that how do I expand my horizon to things like OpenGL or 3ds Max or even something like the Torque engine. I think its just a thing of me not putting 2 and 2 together to see how these correlate. I mean in general, what suggestions do you have for fella who new to the whole game dev seen? (books to read, class to take in school, websites, etc.) Sorry for being so long-winded, I hope you guys can help. Thanks alot in advance.

First of all, the only 3d game i've ever heard of made in java is Runescape. I've been told by professional java programmers that trying to make anything more than a text game is a nightmare.

Second, C# is MUCH closer to java than C++. They're almost identical infact. C# is, apparently, much easier to learn. Ofcourse C++ is more popular, and apparently more efficient. If your comfortable with Java you'll probably be more comfortable with C# then C++.