Sign in to follow this  
Darthashwin

OpenGL Opengl Rotate and Translate

I am a beginner in Opengl. any advice would be gratefully accepted. I am programming on this opengl program.It consists of an arrow. and the pivot is the tip of the arrow.. once u hit the 'a' key the arrow rotates to the left with the tip as pivot and when u hit the 'd' key it rotates to the right.. now when i hit the 'w' key the arrow should move in the direction pointed by the arrow. and while moving in that direction when the 'a' or 'd' arrow is hit it should turn around in the respective direction. I have achieved the rotation of the arrow and once the arrow is positioned ,as i press w it moves in that direction. but while moving if i press the 'a' or 'd' key the movement is not as i want to be.. can any of u please help me This is the code void display(void) { glPushMatrix(); glRotatef(it,0,0,-1); glTranslatef(ttx,tty,0); arrow(); glPopMatrix(); glFlush(); glutSwapBuffers(); } int arrow(void) { glBegin(GL_POLYGON); glColor3f( 1.0, 1.0, 1.0 ); glVertex2f( 0.0, 0.0 ); glVertex2f( 0.5, -1.0 ); glVertex2f( 0.2, -1.0 ); glVertex2f( 0.2, -2.0 ); glVertex2f( -0.2, -2.0 ); glVertex2f( -0.2, -1.0 ); glVertex2f( -0.5, -1.0 ); glEnd(); glutSwapBuffers(); return true; } void rotate(int i) { it=it+i*1; glutPostRedisplay(); } void move(void) { ttx=(ttx+.01)*sin(angle); tty=(tty+.01)*cos(angle); glutPostRedisplay(); }

I think you want something more like:

ttx= ttx + (0.1 * sin(angle));
tty= tty + (0.1 * cos(angle));

Note I've added parentheses to emphasis the evaluation order. You don't want to modify ttx and tty (your world translation) by the angle every frame, you want to add an offset which is transformed by the angle.

No dude it didnt work..

its like this
i want the arrow ,actually the tip of the arrow to turn...and while moving when i turn the arrow..i want it to move forward in the direction of the arrow tip..

well this link has the compiled exe file
run the