Looking for critique

Started by
6 comments, last by Lily 17 years, 1 month ago
Hi! I'm an amateur composer, and I was just looking for somment comments on some of my work and what I can do to improve. Thanks These were all for a middle-eastern themed mod for Oblivion: Overture Arabesco Battle theme City Theme (unfinished) Serenade (slow and boring--not particularly proud of this one) Misc Theme I actually have a finished version of this but I dont have access to it right now. Ill post it later. Untitled I realize most games dont need music in this style but its just to show some variation in my style I guess. Unfinished.
Advertisement
valkir- first off, glad to have you on the forums and thanks for sharing some of your material.

I listened to the overture and had some comments for you. Overall, I think you're on the right track. Your samples (particularly the strings) are not the greatest but there might be some ways to soften them up a bit. Also, the string samples have a slow attack, which makes one of the faster sections where the strings are playing short, staccato notes awkward. I'd give you a time, but since it played in QuickTime, I haven't a clue! :)

I do like your pacing and usage of the Arabian-like scale (with the flat second). Very appropriate. I would suggest you fill in some of the transitions between major sections. Right now it feels like the piece does section "a" then goes right into "b" and then into a short "c" section. I don't think you need to change the lengths of these sections, but it would work better to prepare the sections more. For example when the first loud cymbal crash comes in (again, sorry for no times) it is out of the blue. Now, that effect works but only when used in moderation. The two later transitions just happen- that quickly.

Why not have the drums slowly build into the ostinato pattern you have towards the end of the piece. With more preparation, you'll find that your climatic parts have more impact.