Spatial Partitioning and Water

Started by
4 comments, last by JasonBlochowiak 17 years, 1 month ago
Hello all. I am new to GameDev as a user but a long time fan. I have, as a hobby, in the past built basic rendering engines with DirectX and am currently working on an ambitious project in my spare time. I will not make claim that it will be the best engine ever nor even garauntee completion but I would love to learn more about game-engine design and programming. I've been programing as a hobby on and off for about the last 18 years...yet, in my opinion, know very little and make rookie mistakes and ask rookie questions. So that's my introduction. Hopefully you can all accept me in your community and help me learn. That is why I've come here. Cheers! Now for my question! All of my previous experience has been with small games with small environments. I am currently trying to expand my skills to the realm of MMOGs. I have been designing an Octree structure that I can store and load from disk. My grasp of the theory is fairly sound however I'm getting stuck on a few points. 1) When I subdivide my static world meshes am I storing actual polygons at the leaf nodes or references to them? If I am actually storing polygons then I am not subdividing my larger meshes based on the node percision? Is that a good thing? 2) And here's where I hit the brick wall...How do I represent water in my world and still be able to draw only the polygons that are visible to the view frustrum? I'm thinking looking out to the ocean from the beach. I would like the water to move obviously which means I can't subdivide the mesh into the leaf nodes of the tree. They must remain one mesh. I think I'm starting to answer my own questions...it feels as though I should be storing the meshes seperately and referencing the polygons from the octree for quick collection for the renderer. If I do that however then 1) how do I store that on disk without subdividing the meshes and 2) how do I use the higher