Sign in to follow this  
Helderash

Recommended Reading for Real Time FEA Deformations

Helderash    144
Hey folks! I'm just about to get started on my six month Master's project, based around the real time deformation of objects during collision (say in a racing game), using Finite Element Analysis. I'm currently comfortable with all the mathematics behind FEA, and the programming involved in coding it, but there's a few other topics I'm a little unsure about, namely: -Reading in vertex data from a mesh generated using a 3D package, to fill a vertex buffer. -Vertex-Vertex collision detection (I have some experience dealing with collision of spheres, but I've never done any collision detection on irregular shapes). -I'm a little rusty on the Physics required, though I'm happy to read any in depth Physics text book (my first degree was in Physics). I was just wondering whether anyone could recommend any books, papers or algorithms on topics that cover the above, as well as (if possible, though I may be wishing for a little too much here) a similar application of Finite Element Analysis. I'm probably going to use a software library to deal with the solution of linear equations, and will be using Ogre for visualisation, so I'm trying not to worry about those for the time being. Oh, I'm also more than happy to use a ready made software library for the collision detection too if anyone knows of a good one, so long as I can handle the response myself (the finite element analysis application is the major theme of the project). Thankyou very much for your help, it is very much appreciated! James.

grhodes_at_work    1385
Interesting topic area! Are you looking to do something novel, or just a typical implementation?