Sign in to follow this  
hereticprophecy

Designing Game Engines

My question: what are the primary design philosophies behind game engines? While I'm fairly new to game programming, I've noticed that I have much more fun programming a game's architecture rather than the gameplay, graphics, or GUIs. So I endeavored to start programming a basic RPG engine based off a pre-existing pen-and-paper game to get some practice. However, I've come to the realization that I'm not exactly sure what these engines should look like, what they should be doing, and how they should be structured. I can imagine that an engine of the scale I'm working with can pretty much be designed however I need it to be, since performance and generalization will come in time: I'd just like to get moving in the right direction now, rather than changing bad habits later. I'm working in C++ atm, while I'm learning Python, and if it arises, I'll be happy to post some of my primary classes for critique. Any information would be appreciated: links to articles, references to books, personal experience, useful algorithms, and the like.

No articles to point you towards but three things I always try to keep in mind while designing game engines.

1. Write the least code possible.
2. Write the clearest code possible.
3. Never be afraid to rewrite code.

These are all of equal importance in my opinion. They arent necesarily guidelines for general game development, since time constraints and other things factor in, but for learning to design good things, they are crucial.

If you're designing a game engine, perhaps a good way to start would be to list all the actors in your game. Then start listing all the possible objects in the game. From there, you could start listing the attributes and abilities of these characters and objects. Once you have all these things on paper, you could start building your classes. I'd say more, but I've got to go now. Good luck.

vinb :)