• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

complete n00b question

This topic is 3956 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok how to start...I guess I am a would be dev programmer just starting out, I have no idea where to go from the fact that I have a solid game plot and story line. When I was a bit younger I taughtmyself tml htm xml and a host of other web development languages out of a book doing it the right way... through notepad I know almost nothing about c other than I understand the concept of the engine functions and scriping language and that they alkl go together to create the basis of a game. Ive been doing a bit of web research and havnt yielded any amazing results, what language do I need to learn? where do I start? usefull info of any sort would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
ok I read Game Programming Beginners Guide by Dave Astle

- Who reccomended C/C++ as a beginers language I have a book already and can easily sit down and discliplin myself to learn this

What Language Do I Use? by John Hattan

- This only displayed the different languages that can be used shown below:

C
C++
C or C++
Assembly
Pascal
Visual Basic
Java
Authoring Tools
Conclusion

So my question is this: what does the general public use most? what are the limitations of the C language and is there somthing better out there than that? also what should I look for as far as complilers go?

Quote:
Original post by Azendai
ok I read Game Programming Beginners Guide by Dave Astle

- Who reccomended C/C++ as a beginers language I have a book already and can easily sit down and discliplin myself to learn this

What Language Do I Use? by John Hattan

- This only displayed the different languages that can be used shown below:

C
C++
C or C++
Assembly
Pascal
Visual Basic
Java
Authoring Tools
Conclusion