• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
_sim

OpenGL object placement/location

This topic is 4253 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to OGL and didn't know whether to post this in this forum or the OGL but I figured it would get more exposure here. I am currently working on getting a basic billiards up and running but I am having some issues with understanding how to place objects in OpenGL when working in a 3D space. I've worked in 2D space before and done some stuff including making a heirarchy moveable robot and also making a sodoku game, but the part I found easy was the fact that I was doing everything in 2D, so 1 pixel was 1 pixel. When I wanted to place a square at the center of the screen, I knew the window size and knew exactly how big to make the quad at the center because there was no depth. Now I've come to 3-space and I'm confused as to how to place things. I've read through some of the NeHe tutorials, but they give lessons on how to do things, not an explanation as to how to place them, etc. So I know I need to get the following drawn: - 16 balls - a table - a cue - maybe some other stuff (power meter? ball spin thingy?) But how do I know where in 3 space to put these things for them to match my phyiscal game? This is how I setup my 3D Space:
void cRender::Set3DView()
{
	int origin = 0;
	int width = gWinManager->GetWidth();
	int height = gWinManager->GetHeight();

glViewport(0, 0, width, height);
	glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);

glLoadIdentity();

// Calculate the aspect ratio of the window
	gluPerspective(45.0f, static_cast<float>(width)/static_cast<float>(height), 1.0f, 100.0f);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
	glLoadIdentity();
}