• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Scylexan

[SOLVED] [HLSL] Passing Scene Data

This topic is 4276 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First off I'll admit that I'm new to the world of shaders and I probably picked a heafty project to learn it with; however, this project is teaching me a lot. I'm currently in the process of building a real-time raytracer fully on the GPU. With predefined scenes from arrays I have this working perfectly fine, I can even "move around" in the environment. The problem I'm having is the communication between my scene editor and passing in the scene data to the GPU. I've learned quickly that large arrays tend to not do so well on the GPU and I've read that using textures to hold scene data is a good way of overcoming this. First off, does this sound accurate and a good approach? Second, how would I approach this properly? This is what I've done so far and thought of. Within my scene editor I created a texture with the R32F format. Lock, fill data, Unlock then pass the texture to the GPU using SetValue(). The texture will only be passed once a new object is added to the scene, so I assume that I won't be hurting my performance too much with passing the texture. Also, since my scene data texture is size of my window's width I will pass to the GPU, whatever (1/width) will be. Now, this is the part that I'm not too sure on...I'll show it in code and maybe it'll explain better than I could. float normalizedTextureIndex; // (1 / width) from editor at beginning texture sceneTexture; // from editor sampler sceneSampler = sampler_state { texture = sceneTexture; // do I need anything else here? }; ...later on when needed // since my texture is R32F format, I really only need to read from the "r" float4 unitOfData = tex2D(sceneSampler, (normalizedTextureIndex * prim * N)); **NOTE: prim will be the value us