• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Which language is ideal for this type of game?

This topic is 3954 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I wasn't sure on a forum, so I found this appropiate, since I'm a beginner :). So, I finally found out what type of game I would make. The problem is that I have no idea what language is best for it. That's where I ask you. The game: A card game, with decks and all. Yeah, that's pretty much it. If any of you have played Magic or Munchkin, it's like a hybrid of those and others (though, of course, not a copy. Pfft.). My guess would be that I don't need a very advanced language, especially as the "graphics" of the game wouldn't be very advanced. At a later date, I would make a "browser" for online play etcetera, but I guess that will include the involvement of other languages, and I wouldn't need that right now anyways. For now, it's just the basic game. Thanks in advance. NOTE: And yes, I know game making is a lengthy process etc; no need to tell me.

Advertisement
Any language is appropriate. Pick the one you are most comfortable with.

From your description, any language with access to a graphics library would be a possibility. Unless your game has speed prerequisites (such as AI computations), I would suggest that you use a high-level language as opposed to the traditional C and C++ suggestions, because these require less effort to get working. My choice would probably be either C# or O'Caml, with PHP and C++ right after that (due to my experience with them more than an inherent advantage).

Flash.

- Works well in browser or standalone.
- All the graphics libraries.
- Somewhat simple syntax.
- Has been adopted by a large group of game developers
- Is fast and both, Flash and application, have small footprint
- Provides database/networking functionality
- Plenty of tutorials everywhere