• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
adzz182

Rotation/Translation....help, please

This topic is 4230 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, im pretty new to openGL. Ive just started on a little project on the Nintendo DS, and right now im just trying to create a program that will navigate a 3D environment. I am following the methods of navigation found in Tutorial 10 on the NeHe site. I have no Trouble Strafing the 'camera' forwards and backwards, or rotating it left and right, the problems arise when i try to strafe left and right, it seems to move diagonally, ive tried editing the code for hours, and searched the internet but i cant find whats wrong. Here is my (pseudo)code: //Rotate Left if L is pressed then { y_rotate += 1; } //Rotate Right if R is pressed then { y_rotate += 1; } //Move/Strafe forwards if UP is pressed then { xposition += SIN[y_rotate && LUT_MASK] >> 4; zposition -= COS[y_rotate && LUT_MASK] >> 4; } //Move/Strafe Backwards if DOWN is pressed then { xposition -= SIN[y_rotate && LUT_MASK] >> 4; zposition += COS[y_rotate && LUT_MASK] >> 4; } //Move/Strafe Right if RIGHT is pressed then { xposition -= SIN[(y_rotate-90) && LUT_MASK] >> 4; zposition += COS[(y_rotate-90) && LUT_MASK] >> 4; } //Move/Strafe Right if LEFT is pressed then { xposition -= SIN[(y_rotate+90) && LUT_MASK] >> 4; zposition += COS[(y_rotate+90) && LUT_MASK] >> 4; } //Then in my DrawGLScene glRotatef32i((int)(LUT_SIZE - y_rotate),0,(1<<12),0); glTranslate3f32( (int32)(-xposition/), 0.5f, (int32)(-zposition) ); I use this method as opposed to the method in the NeHe example (multiplying by piOver180) as i keep getting error messages when compiling.

Advertisement
By "this method" do you mean all the shifts you're doing?

I haven't looked into what NeHe suggests but I did the following to get a FPS style camera