Sign in to follow this  
Genesiiis

Win32 API!

Hi There. I started Learning C++ a while ago and was quite naive in my thinking that all I had to do was learn C++ and then that’s it, I could program anything. I then realised that then new libraries, API's and all that also get thrown in and in itself C++ only really serves use as something to write console applications (Sorry if I am wrong in any of the above and if I am could someone steer me to the write course). I am looking for some good books on the Win32 API for C++ or some good web tutorials, does anyone have any suggestions, thanks everyone!

This is a pretty good starter tutorial. Also, if you haven't already got it, download the free Visual Studio 2005 Express from Microsoft and install the PSDK as well.

However, I'd also suggest that for writing normal Windows applications that heavily use buttons, menus and so on, it would be worth looking into C# and Windows Forms since the C Win32 API is a bit of a pain to work with and the future certainly seems to be with the far easier C# .NET stuff.

There's a tutorial for Win32 basics at this site which I found incredibly useful. It explains the basics so well. The only problem is that it really only does teach the very basics.

The tutorial at this site is really good too. It teaches things like dialogue boxes, menus, icons etc etc.

As for a book, I'm pretty sure Petzold's book is generally considered to be the best. Think this is the one: click

[Edited by - Side Winder on April 5, 2007 6:42:39 AM]

Thanks clawer. The main reason I want to get to grips with the Win32 API is that I want to move on then to the OpenGL API. Now I know from the tutorials i have found on the net at least, all require use of the Win32 API to use the OpenGL API. Can anyone give me any insite in to how much knowledge of the Win32 API is required (If any at all) to start using the OpenGL API, Thanks.