Sign in to follow this  
joshyboy13

floor-of-game-help

hello all, I have been programming for 4 years in C++, but im a relative |\|00|3 to OGL. I am starting my first game project and a have a problem. I could do the floor with hundreds of glBegin(); / glEnd(); functions, but i want to do it the cool way. Does any one know how to make like a whole repeated floor using for loops? any help would be greatly appriciatted. sincerly, C++/OGL programmer

Well, to start with, what sort of floor do you intend to have?

Firstly, is this in 2D or 3d, and if the former, from what perspective?

The same tile repeated over and over? One of a selection of tiles? Arbitrary (but flat) polygon shapes? Arbitrary (but flat) shapes, potentially curved? A heightmap? Something else entirely? (If the last, please specify.)

Next, will a lot of the floor be visible at once, or will the only small sections be visible at a time (such as in a series of small rooms connected by short passageways that change direction, thus limiting how far the player can see most of the time)?

Finally, good luck with your project! I hope that the result is what you hope for, and more. ^_^

well the first level has the same floor over and over and over again. it is a flat terrain (for now). It is a 3-d game, using perspective projection. I have heard that you can use
for loops to repeat floor code. Do you have any knowlage on this?

P.S. i have tried something like this:

for(int b = -100; b < 100; b++)
{
for(int a = -100; a < 100; a++)
{
glBegin(GL_QUADS);
glTexCoord2f(0,1); glVertex3f(b,-0.3,-a);
glTexCoord2f(0,0); glVertex3f(b,-0.3,-a-5);
glTexCoord2f(1,0); glVertex3f(b+5,-0.3,-a-5);
glTexCoord2f(1,1); glVertex3f(b+5,-0.3,-a);
glEnd();
}
}

but it wont work right(the game runs really slow and the textures look weird)

[Edited by - joshyboy13 on April 5, 2007 10:12:02 PM]

Well, first of all, I would recommend compiling the entire floor into a display list, to make it more efficient at render time.