Sign in to follow this  
Cloud Strife

nOObs trying to make a game

Hello, at the present moment some friends and myself have prompted to create a video game (an RPG to be exact). Now to tell you the truth we are only hardcore gamers and really have not clue how one is made. Though we are willing to learn. I have some experience in C++ and True Basic though that is all (meaning only the basics). I was wondering if anyone could give us some tips (other than "It's IMPOSSIBLE" please :D ) on things like what to choose for software. We don't have any money to spend and would like to use free software out there, I know of Blender for 3d models, and Game Maker, plus Anvil Studio for music, but have no clue what else to use. If we could here from the Masters of gaming and see what you have to say that would help us out a lot! What would your personal opinon on the Programming language we should choose along with other programs out there? (Is blitz basic free?) Thanks in advance.

I have created 2 commercial casual games using BlitzMax and GameMaker.

Now, as to your idea of creating an RPG. I would suggest doing it in 2D. 3D RPG requires a LOT of art.

If you do insist on making 3D RPG, then go with XNA. You could then develop for 360 and Win at the same time! :)

BlitzMax costs about $100 but it is well worth the price.

You can use Ogre3d (www.ogre3d.org) as a rendering engine.
I don't like it, that is why i write my own engine at the moment ;).

The main problem will be that you have only basic experience in C++.

In my opinion an RPG is one of the most complex gamestyle.
But why not.

Give it a try ;).

I'm doing it this way:
- 3D Engine
- Game Engine
- RPG

Me and my friends want to do an RPG too, but we have a lot experience i think.

It is not impossible, for beginners the best way i think is use Ogre3D for Rendering or try to make it first in 2D.

at least you didn't say an mmo =)

basicly you want to:

1.) get more experience with a programing language.