Sign in to follow this  
mlukowski

C++ Workshop group B

I am fairly new to cpp, and well never had a lot of influence to learn it. Since I am living in the gaming capitol per say i figured why not attempt again. I just recently picked up cpp primer 4th edition, and began realizing this book is the real deal. I looked into Jwalsch's acclaimed C++ workshop, and realized it has almost died down. I as a student of cpp was wondering if anybody would want to join me on my quest of the standard library, and possibly get a group of our own to learn the language. We can possibly give extra exercises to anywhere to work on projects together. Moreover, maybe even a tutor may hop aboard, and just help from time to time on a a given question and/or solution. For the record I am completely devoted, and hope to find others who share my same passion. Marc

Hi Marc

I'm programming in c/c++ for over 8 years now, I know a whole lot of open source libs (mainly graphics) and I think, I'm fairly good at programming on and for Debian GNU/Linux.
But, since I'm a devoted Linux-only user, I have absolutely no competence in using and writing programs for Windows.

So, what I can offer:

-Help with c/c++ (answer questions, send you old code of mine to study)
-Help with open source libs (like: Sdl, Clanlib, Gtk+, Crystalspace, Ogre3D, ODE, OpenAL)

What I can't offer:

-Help using Windows APIs, DirectX, proprietary libs
-Help with the configuration of a project or compiling on Windows (VisualStudio, DEV, whatever)

Btw. I think, that it is a good idea to learn in a team for it can increase motivation drastically (e.g. trough so called eustress) and that it is a pity, that the other workshop died down. So I hope, that other guys/girls participate and that everyone involved gets challenged.

Since I'm studying maths/physics, I don't have a lot of spare time, but I'll check now and then to see how the whole thing is coming up (at least once a week).