Sign in to follow this  
tbuczek

Multiplayer Game Question

For your benefit, you can skip everything between the lines following as it is background and what not. I felt the need to include it to give an idea of my limited experience writing games. --------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------- Okay, first off... I am not a game programmer. I work on enterprise applications for my job, so my knowledge on game development is limited to the books and articles I have read. I have written some small single player games, and even a 3d game (though 90% of the code was stolen... all I did was change the meshes so they were more suitable for my kids). Recently, I started working on a turn based squad combat game. It is a persistant game that is intended to be run in campaigns. If you have ever played Mordheim, or Necromunda, that is about the closest examples I can come to my game. You build a squad of 5 to 10 units, and they persist between sessions. As they go on they grow in experience, gain skills, buy equipment etc... I am sure you all know the drill. The mechanisms to persist the squads is outside the scope of this discussion, that is a much simpler monster. Anyway, there is a bit more backhistory but I will get into it some of the meat Initialy I made the game a peer to peer game, using UDP. I had an action engine, and everything that was done occured in the action engine. Any UI event got associated with an object that subclassed from ActionBase. When an action occured, it would call the actionengine, which would fire the action off to all peers. All that was passed to the peers was the sigiture of the action, and the action arguments. Each peer then got the event and performed the action at the same time. I was all proud of this engine, cause I never really had to worry about multiplay, since all the cl