Sign in to follow this  
Mongooseman

Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0

A teacher recently offered to sell me Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 Professional Edition for $25, and I was wondering if that is a good deal. I'm new to programming and game development, and I am planning on getting some books and learning C++ this summer, but I wasn't sure if this would be helpful to me, being an outdated product. I ran into a similar problem with Visual Basic in the past, so I want to be sure that I'm making the right move before I spend any money.

Extremely bad deal. MSVC6, which dates from 1998, is inferior in every possible way to the current version, Visual Studio 2005.

And Visual Studio 2005 Express Edition is downloadable for free from Microsoft's website.

VS6 is an ok program. However, Microsoft offers Visual Studio Express Edition for free at: http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/downloads/ - seperate downloads for C#, Visual Basic, C++, and J#. My understanding is that these editions optimize less than professional editions, but free is a great price, and they will have support for all the newest Microsoft technologies.

To provide an alternative viewpoint, the CDs your proffessor wants to sell you means you don't have to download anything, and you'll be pretty much ready to go straight out of the box. The free downloads require you to download other things in order to really get going programming. It's all free, but you generally have to know what you still need to download. For instance, I believe the libraries for windows programming needs to be downloaded seperately.

On the other hand, most modern 3rd party libraries (such as Ogre3D for instance) won't support MSVC 6. It also doesn't have .NET (it predates it), and the C++ support is a little wonky on advanced features such as templates (they weren't finalized yet by the ANSI comittee when MSVC 6 came out).