Sign in to follow this  
GMX

OpenGL OpenGL vs. DirectX

I've heard different things when wondering whether to use DirectX for graphical programs or to use OpenGL. Some people have said that DirectX is more powerful/better but harder to use, is this true?

This topic again?

http://www.google.com/search?q=opengl+vs+directx

and

http://tinyurl.com/3x6m7e (local search)

Search is a wonderful thing.

Summary? It is up to you, they can both more or less do the same things, and they do them in similar ways for the most part.

This question springs up a lot and tends to lead to pointless arguments between different camps.

Firstly I'd better point out the more accurate comparison is between OpenGL and Direct3D. DirectX controls a lot more than just the graphics. That isn't necessarily a strike against OpenGL though, as with libraries such as SDL you can get a similar grade of functionality for most games.

I'm not an expert, but I've read a few of these debates. Basically I think the argument comes down to this:
  • If you are aiming for cross-platform games, use OpenGL
  • If you prefer C style procedural programming then OpenGL is more your flavour. If you prefer a more object oriented approach you might prefer Direct3D.
  • OpenGL may be slightly easier to get started in and draw things to the screen, but when you get deep into it then it's roughly the same.
  • If you are undecided about any of these and are developing for Windows it probably doesn't matter which one you choose. Once you are familiar with either OpenGL or Direct3D it's pretty easy to learn the other one.
  • Ideally once you get into a large project you'd write the code so it's not that dependent on what graphical interface you use, so you can easily swap between OpenGL or Direct3D or give your players the choice between the two