programmer looking for career change..

Started by
7 comments, last by onthetweek 17 years ago
Hey guys, new here.. i'm a web developer looking to dabble in a career making some games. I'm a little confused about how i should go about this because i'm an open source developer and i don't want that to change. Anyone here have any experience making games for linux? or if i should even bother? if anyone could point me towards some resources that would be great, too. thanks!
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by instant oatmeal
Hey guys, new here..

i'm a web developer looking to dabble in a career making some games. I'm a little confused about how i should go about this because i'm an open source developer and i don't want that to change. Anyone here have any experience making games for linux? or if i should even bother?

if anyone could point me towards some resources that would be great, too. thanks!

It is possible to build games for Linux using the SDL library. You'll probably need to look at C or C++ as a primary language, although there are wrappers for other languages like Python -- depends on what kind of games you want to make. (The GNU toolchain is one of the few things you can expect to see on any Linux distro.)

Linux does have issues as a gaming platform, not the least of which is support. Windows already suffers from the requirement to support umpteen million permutations and combinations of hardware, and Linux has exactly the same problems squared: there are so many distros and variations of Linux that it's nigh-on impossible to build a universal installer which will work for everyone.

Also, from my own experience and those of friends in the industry, Linux gaming is not a viable market financially, so keep the day-job.

Sean Timarco Baggaley (Est. 1971.)Warning: May contain bollocks.
Quote:Original post by stimarco
Also, from my own experience and those of friends in the industry, Linux gaming is not a viable market financially, so keep the day-job.