• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Cybermat

3D Graphics pipeline advice.

This topic is 4169 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Folks , im very new to this 3D graphics pipeline business and have been given an assignment at college. My assignment basically requires me to pick an image from a game (I chose half life 2) and describe how this image is converted from 3D to a 2D image using the 3D graphics pipeline. What I am really looking for is a simple explanation of the process involved, I am currently using a good book (3D computer graphics 3rd edition by Alan watt) it has some great explanations but i get a bit lost in the text, as I was taught about the pipeline in a slightly different manner and reading back through the lecture notes I find they are not very explanitory. do you guys by any chance know of a fairly good dummies guide to the 3D graphics pipeline and perhaps an explanation of the process involved in conversion from 3D to 2D that I can have a browse through. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
There is a good technical article on the Direct3D Transformation Pipeline here that takes you right up to screen coordinates being passed to the rasterizer.

As for rasterization itself, you could have a look here, but there may be better explanations of it out there [smile]

Regards,
ViLiO

Whilst I don't particularly rate the technology side of the Source engine you might be better off picking a simpler image to get started on [smile]

Fundamentally there are three sections of the pipeline that you need to understand:

1. Pipeline setup - this is where the application determines what to draw, what order and with what configuration (e.g. finer details of the effects/processes used)