• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Bailey

Genetic Programming.....Help, tips & tricks

This topic is 4075 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a 2nd year student and I am comming to the end of my second year in games dev. For my 3rd year project I have decided to make a game that uses geneitic algorithms for the A.I. I have so far done a litriture survey on the subject, but i was wondering if any of you had any tips aboout genetic algorithms. For example, is there one programming language better than another for this sort of thing, any good books or links. Basically im mainly looking for a starting point. From my understaning it is a set of programs which evolve each generation by using the fitness level and then recreating a number of the programs using mutation/crossover/reproduction.

Advertisement
For my final year project I chose "Computational Evolution". We were given complete freedom to design our project around this concept.

Our program simulated artificial creatures with a simple genetic make up comprising of 5 factors that controlled their behaviour. The creatures lived in a simple, flat, world where food was spread out and would slowly grow if it wasn't being eaten.

In the end we explored a range of things in our write-up such as the emergence of stable populations, catastrophic events (such as them going on a feeding frenzy then starving themselves off, emergent behaviour etc...

This isn't quite the same as a normal genetic algorithm however there are similarities. When the population stabilised on a certain gene they had effectively found a solution to exist in the environment. I guess this is what your AI enemies would want to do as well although their lives may be considerably shorter.