• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
l0cke

help getting started

This topic is 4171 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm a student majoring in computer science, minoring in music and I'd eventually like to work with games (programming and sound particularly interest me). I would like to start some very small, simple game projects of my own, and eventually find a small group/team project to be a part of. I know the basics of C++ (arrays, pointers, classes, linked lists, searching/sorting, etc.) However, I've never programmed a game. I've read around the site a little bit, and I came across the thread on making a tetris clone, which seems like a good place to start. I know I've got a lot of reading to do, there seems to be a lot of information in the articles section of the site as well as the forums. There's so much information though that it's kind of intimidating and I don't know where to start! Any advice, or recommended threads/articles?

Advertisement
My first piece of advice, is don't be intimidated. Just dive right in, whats the worst that could happen?

But anyway, I HIGHLY reccomend SDL (http://www.libsdl.org/). You will be drawing bitmaps on the screen in no time at all, and that is very rewarding. Once you get a bitmap to draw on the screen, the rest will come avalanching in.

Here is a wonderful tutorial to start with:

http://cone3d.gamedev.net/cgi-bin/index.pl?page=tutorials/gfxsdl/index

Some people might say start with directX, but ignore them. It takes too much experience to set up and understand. Good luck!