• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Humunculus

Kinda topic specific question but i thought i would ask in the beginers forum first.

This topic is 4257 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First of all, hey everyone, nice to finally join gamedev. I am a newbie here and kinda of a n00b still on graphics/gamedev. Trying though. I am doing a project currently, it's nothing big yet and its on JOGL. (I know it is a specific topic but i thought the beginers forum the best place to start anyway). I 've been learning about jogl for some time now (and about java along with it) so i think it is about time i actually do something. Anyway enough with the introductory stuff. What i want to do is read (load) a model that i would extract (in .obj file format) from some 3D graphics programm like blender. something simple at first. I've been looking for a loader class but only found one for Java3D. My question: is there a known way to use this loader to extract data, or a class for use in JoGL? And if not I would like some good advice on writting my own loader (i have looked into the .obj format and understand it, I just want some advice from people who surely know more). Thanks in advance for any help. Sorry if was too tedious in my first post :S

Advertisement
If you understand the file format then it is just a matter of reading the data
and sending it to the pipeline.
Also you can find lots of tutorials about loading obj files, most of them
are in c++, but reading or porting the code to java shouldn't be too difficult.

Cheers.

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.