Creating UI in DirectX

Started by
16 comments, last by ext 16 years, 11 months ago
Hey, im looking for some good examples for making some simple UI structures in DirectX like buttons.. I had a look at crazy eddies UI, looks nice but the installation is pretty cryptic. Just thought i would ask what my options are and if anyone knows of any good alternatives/litrature that i could look at to develop my own buttons. Thanks again, Chett
Chett - "I look forward to helping all of you one day, but right now im just a noob learning his way through the perils of game Development."
Advertisement
Hey,

I'm making one for my dissertation and it's all very unofficial at the moment (ie it hasn't been released). It is working but needs tweaking and the documentation is minimal at the minute. However if you want to take a look at some of the code, go to DGUI on Sourceforge.

As i said it is in very early stages and so you will have to download the latest snapshot with SVN. However the code is all there and the distribution is pretty much complete.

Let me know if you have any questions,

Dave
Hi Chett2001,
Have you checked out the DXUT GUI stuff in the DX SDK samples?
Look at the "CustomUI sample" in particular.

Even if the DXUT samples don't suit you ideally, all the source code is there that you can adapt and build on.

HTH,
Cambo_frog
For the love of god, please tell me that you've just omitted your error checking code for brevity, and you don't really assume that all those functions succeed.
Hey Dave, would you please make your library available through anything other than SVN? I'm having trouble figuiring out how to get it. Thanks in advance.
You could try Wintsch Labs, DirectForms Designer 2005. Easy to use and implement GUI system.

DirectForms

I'm currently working on a speed improvement that has already doubled my framerate here and should do much more in a few days when released.